Alice In The Woods

After visiting the MCM Expo in May, I fancied doing some cosplay stuff.

I also wanted to try a bit of the old Ultrawideness outside the studio for a change. I got in touch with Essy Ex who seemed just the ticket.

We shot these images at dusk in the woods near my place.

These shots were both taken with the 5D Mark III and the Sigma DG 12-24 f/4.5-5.6 EX HSM.

For light I used a couple of Canon 600EX-RT flashes, which I love. One was on the camera and the other was on a stand with a brolly. The radio connectivity on these is flawless. The only thing I would change is the recycling time – I must remember to use the external power packs next time to get a shorter recycle. I also have the ST-E3-RT Speedlite Transmitter but didn’t use this on this shoot. The ST-E3 suffers from not having any inbuilt AF assist beam so as the light drops focusing becomes very difficult.

Essy was a good sport and was happy to put up with mooching around the woods in the dark, standing on various wobbly things while I got myself muddy. It’s all about the angles.

I am pleased with the different moods of these particular shots. Although it is starting to look like I have an Alice thing going on.

Alice Goes Apeshit Bonkers With An AK47

Essy Ex as Alice

Here’s the FaceBook set

Posted on August 14, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

