Knifeworld

I would find it hard to think of something more personally thrillsome than working at a video shoot for Knifeworld. Anyone who knows me will attest to my love of Kavus Torabi’s previous band, Cardiacs. People who know me *really* well might know how much I also love Melanie Wood’s previous band Sidi Bou Said.

These pictures were taken at the end of the shooting for the video for Clairvoyant Fortnight. (It’s a great track that has stood up well to my listening to it a million times prior to the shoot, which was directed by that polymathrocker Michael Woodman). I was amazed there was time to take the stills but I think we got some good shots.  The band was relaxed and up for it, which I think shows.

These were shot under the theatre lights at the video location rather than studio flashes. The good thing about shooting under continuous lighting is what you see is (almost) what you get. The bad thing is you need to push the camera to get enough light for sharp images.

Unusually I used zoom lenses for most of these shots. Time was of the essence and I needed to be more pragmatic than normal. I did grab a couple of head shots with my beloved 85mm but I wish I had taken more.

One of the things I like about these pictures is the bona fide theatrical spotlight, provided by the lighting expertise of Luis Frontana. I also like the mix of rock cool and arch daftness that shows up in these picture: that’s Knifeworld. That’s Chaos Engineering.

Click on the picture for a few more.

Ash

This image
Canon 5D Mark III
EF 24-105 F/4L IS USM
55mm 1/50s ISO-800

Posted on April 15, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

