Music – Adam Ant at the Phoenix Cinema – 8.8.11

The last time I saw Adam Ant was in December 1980 at the Cardiff Top Rank (Marty DiBergi voice: “Don’t look for it, it’s not there anymore”). It was a confused punk rock crowd who wondered what was going on. Adam was already significantly bothering the charts and this was considered heresy. I still can’t believe I was allowed to go to this sweaty anarchic place to bask in Antmusic for Sexpeople. I was 13 years old, in my tartan bondage trousers, mohair jumper and recently acquired “What Do You Mean You Don’t Like Adam And The Ants?!” t-shirt. I remember bassist Kevin Mooney (only a boy of 18 himself at the time) was still a proper punk rocker and not very happy with the energy of the room. And Adam had to tell the punks “Ants don’t spit!” – one of the downsides of punk rock gigs c1979/80 was the gobbing. I had forgotten about it until just now. Eeeeew.

There was no gobbing last night. An astonishing 30+ years later, I found myself watching Adam perform a (nearly) solo show at East Finchley’s beautiful and intimate Phoenix Cinema. At my first ever proper gig we played a cover of Physical (You’re So) and last night Adam bashed out a slightly poppier version of that track. Earlier in the evening we had watched the “Live in Tokyo 1981” film which includes an absolutely blistering version with Marco and the other Ants really showing us how it should be done.

It was a lovely evening but I can’t help missing Marco in all this – he always struck me as the rational Yin to Adam’s bonkers Yang. I met Marco once on Tottenham Court Road: it was great to shake the grumpy hand of one of the main reasons I took up the guitar. But I digress. I was a huge Ants fan and it was lovely to share some nostalgia in such close proximity with the man.

AND to be able to get some up-close and personal photographs…

Ash

This image:
Canon EF 300mm f/4.0 L IS USM
Canon 5D Mark II
F/4 1/80s ISO 3200

Adam Ant at the Phoenix Cinema - 8.8.11

Adam Ant at the Phoenix Cinema - 8.8.11

Posted on August 9, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Fab photo Ash, and it sounds like you had a fun evening

Leave a Reply

